147 Days and Counting

So I have a blister on my finger. This is what it looks like (well actually it’s about 1/3 that size) and right at the tip near the nail:

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 11.18.57 am

But this is what it feels like:

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 11.16.18 am

It makes typing extremely frustrating. I am so used to touch typing that now that I can’t follow my usual flow, I make spelling mistakes every two words, and everything (including writing this blog post) is taking 10 times as long.
First world problems, I know, I know.

So anyway, I read this humorous post yesterday posted on our PhD Collaborators Network Facebook page by Katherine Elizabeth. (Picture below links)

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 11.13.15 am

I am particularly fond of…

#1 – Telling people that you are in the 25th grade. Well actually for me it’s technically the 21st grade. It’s hard to comprehend that I have spent 21 years of my 31 years on this earth studying in formal education. The remaining 10 years is split between my 5 preschool years and my 5 years between degrees as an adult. Which makes me wonder what life will be like when I am no longer studying (more on this in a moment).

#12 – Finding an old paper you wrote in your first year of post-graduate study.

This happened to me recently when I was trying to find my old Masters assessment on Interactive Writing. It was a html website/fictional story, that gave 8 different possible endings depending on the choices made by the reader. I was going to show it to my class as I was teaching Interactive fiction… but it was bad. I mean, really bad. The story itself was terribly boring, the interface was shocking and there was no incentive for the user to continue through the story at all. Needless to say, I didn’t show it. I just put it back into the folder from whence it came.

#17 – Feeling some degree of “imposter syndrome” at least once a day. This is just a daily occurrence that we all suffer through.

#18 – When someone asks you what your thesis is about. I just answer “media filmy writey stuff.”

#22 – When someone asks how the writing is going:

#25 – When ANYONE asks you what your plan is after you graduate. I’ll worry about that later… I gotta get to that graduation part first… hence the above!

Leave a Reply

