195 Days and Counting

The guest lecture went pretty well the other night. I was able to get through the content in under an hour, and then the discussion/Q&A went for almost another hour. It was an interesting experience discussing transmedia with budding screenwriters as some had known of the concept before, but didn’t realise the extent to which new writers need to be skilled in writing for a wide array of traditional and new/digital media platforms in order to engage audiences in the spaces they are increasingly occupying.

Yesterday and today were spent working on my methodology section of my thesis. Within this section I essentially move the reader through my theoretical path from a broad post-structuralist framework (think Eco, Barthes, Derrida, Foucault, Lacan, Butler, Kristeva etc.) toward feminism (post-modern/liberal/lesbian/Amazon feminism with a little French feminism thrown in there for good measure) and then I narrow the theoretical perspective to feminist film theory (Mulvey, de Lauretis, Silverman, Kuhn, Smelik etc.) to discuss the marginalisation of lesbians in mainstream media. I address this with specific reference to transmedia storytelling, and the digital spaces allowing lesbians to find representation and voice. It’s all a bit of a mess at the moment, but the structure is there and it’s just a matter of finding a balance between fleshing out the concepts and keeping it concise.

I also had my weekly Skype chat with Jo. We discussed what we accomplished this week and were both around 80% of what we set out to achieve. We didn’t set any specific goals for this week as she off on a holiday with her family, doing the whole parenting thing, and I didn’t want to set anything in stone. Essentially I must complete the presentation for my Stage 2 Assessment, which is next Thursday. I have some other workshops and sessions happening next week, so I will have to knuckle down and get as much done this weekend as possible. I still need to finish my website as well, but am about 70% way through its first ‘draft’. I would also like to do some more work on my screenplay and storyworld, as well as my lit review chapter. Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

